By Danny Tran
I could easily go across the street to Del Taco for lunch today, making it easy on my wallet and leaving me the rest of my lunch to surf the internet and creep around on Facebook. But for some reason, I will decide against this when lunch time comes. Well it isn’t just some reason.

I will walk that 10-15 minutes to Los Compadres and pick up that $9 veggie burrito meal instead.  Yes this lunch option takes longer and costs more, but it taste SO GOOD.  No really, you won’t find a better burrito in the Soma/Financial District of San Francisco.

There is a difference between a product/service that is handcrafted specifically for me and something that just came off an assembly line. It might be the quality of the product/service or it might just be the feeling of knowing that it’s not like everything else and that it was made by an actual person. Whatever the case, the underlying reason is the same: I’m much more satisfied.

Quality has been sacrificed in the past to make way for quantity in a shorter amount of time and at a cheaper cost. But dare I say that this is changing?  I see more gourmet food trucks roaming around this city every day, more slow-food restaurants are popping up, and more handmade manufacturers are making blog headlines.

A hand-pulled espresso shot that took an extra minute to make really does taste better than one that comes from a press of a button at a fraction of the time.

That custom handmade bag that cost 3 dollar signs and took 4 weeks to get to your doorstep will most definitely last longer than something you might get off an assembly line.   If it doesn’t, I’m sure the maker will have no problem fixing it for you to ensure your satisfaction.

Time is money. I hear this so much that it’s probably unconsciously embedded into every decision I make. But there are some other phrases that I’d rather internalize:

  • You reap what you sow.
  • You get what you pay for.

Yes, time is money, but we ought to remember that time is also quality.

